The first organised Swimming Club in Rhyl was founded in 1896, when a swimming pontoon and dressing rooms were installed at the newly created Marine Lake at the West End of Rhyl.
The indoor baths were opened in Sussex Street, Rhyl, in 1905 and the Swimming Club moved there soon after. These baths were still in existance housing the indoor market situated between Sussex Street and Market Street until recently demolished to make way for the construction of Wilkinson Stores & Peacocks.
In 1930 the Swimming Club transfered to the Open Air Pool that had been opened recently on the East Parade. This pool was 110 yards (100m) long and 23 1/3 yards (21m) wide and could accommodate large numbers of swimmers and some 2,500 spectators.
The membership of the Club at that time frequently exceeded 1,000 during the Summer months.
The Water Polo team and keener swimmers, however, remained loyal to the indoor pool until it closed for the duration of hostilities from 1939 to 1945.
The indoor pool was then used for storage of food, etc., for the Royal Artillery, stationed at Kinmel Camp, Bodelwyddan.
During the War years the pool building deteriorated badly, and, in 1946, the water supply pipe (from the sea and running underneath the Queens Hotel) was found to be badly corroded. The baths were filled in and the building converted into a market. Thus the town lost a unique pool - heated salt water, easy to swim in and found to be condusive to achieving "fast times".
The Swimming Club was re-formed in May 1946. The Club operated from May until September (weather permitting) in the Open Air Pool. there it continued until moving to the Sport Centre complex in 1974.